Urban Fellows Program FAQ

What is the Urban Fellows Program?

The Texas Woman’s University (TWU) Urban Fellows Internship Program provides $1,000 scholarships to eligible students.  Our mission is to provide financial support for students who want to gain valuable internship experience in internships that are historically unpaid. Students will complete 80 noncredit hours over the course of 8 weeks. Funding provided by the Jane Nelson Institute for Women’s Leadership (JNIWL).

Who can apply?

Graduate and undergraduate students who are enrolled at Texas Woman’s University may apply. At this time, students who have a temporary social security number and/or HB Qualified Residents aren’t eligible for the scholarship.

When is the deadline to apply?

The deadline to apply can be found on the Urban Fellows website (https://careerconnections.twu.edu/events/?shared_category=urban-fellows-program). You may also contact Brookelyn Bush, Graduate Assistant, Employer Relations, at bnickelberry@twu.edu.

Do I need to submit an application?

Yes. You may need to fill out up to 2 applications—1 for acceptance into the Urban Fellows Program (and to fulfill the requirements to receive the $1000 scholarship) and 1 for the site where you wish to intern. The site may also require you to submit a resume and go through a formal interview (which may include a criminal background check). The Career Connections Center is here to help you format your resume and receive interview practice (see below).

Where do I complete my internship (e.g.-nonprofit, Fortune 500 company, etc.)?

Internships must be completed at nonprofit, community, or governmental organizations. Students must find their own internship as we Career Connections can help you identify possible internship opportunities through TWU Connect/ Handshake or with partner organizations.

A list of available site partners for the Urban Fellows Program is available on our website (https://careerconnections.twu.edu/channels/urban-fellows-program/). These past sites have provided internships for students and may be used as an additional resource. You may also login to Handshake to see a list of active internships.

How do I apply?

To apply for the program, students must have their resume reviewed and complete a mock interview. A student may have their resume reviewed 1 of 2 ways: complete a virtual drop-in appointment with a TWU Career Consultant, or email their Career Consultant for their specific College to have their resume reviewed virtually. For the mock interview, students will need to schedule an appointment with their Career Consultant.

 

Email your consultant directly to schedule your mock interview appointment and to have your documents reviewed. Contact the consultant that is assigned to your college (each major is in a college).

College of Arts & Sciences- Elizabeth MacDonald, emacdonald@twu.edu

College of Business- Rohit Prasad, rprasad1@twu.edu

College of Health Sciences & Undecided Students- Vianet Garza, vgarza13@twu.edu

College of Nursing (Denton) and College of Professional Education- Chrissy Meek, cmeek@twu.edu

TWU Dallas Campus (all majors)- Trevor McCray, tmccray1@twu.edu

TWU Houston Campus (all majors)- Bryana Ortiz, bortiz3@twu.edu